Escape from Alcatraz Triathlon Training Plan Athletes

IMG Escape from Alcatraz Logo

30th Anniversary - 2010

This past weekend, the 30th anniversary Escape from Alcatraz triathlon was contested in the frigid waters of the San Francisco Bay and along the challenging and picturesque roads and coastal trails that draw so many athletes to the city by the bay. Athletes were blessed by Mother Nature with beautiful weather and favorable swim conditions. Even with the best weather conditions, the rigors of the triathlon remain formidable.  Whether its the salty, choppy, body numbing temperatures of the bay or the lung burning roller coaster ride of the bike or strength sapping hills of the run course, the Escape from Alcatraz triathlon requires due diligence and focused preparation when it comes to training.

This year we were fortuneate to be the provider of Escape from Alcatraz training plans to a number of out of state triathletes. Alcatraz is unique in that the bay swim represents a number of unpredictable variables not the least of which are current/tide conditions and water temperature. Having access to local coaches in San Francisco enables athletes who have chosen the Escape from Alcatraz as a destination race to feel as prepared as possible.
Congratulations to every “Escapee” as well as each Hypercat. Below are just a few of the notes from athletes who prepared for Alcatraz with Hypercat Racing.

Hi Rachel,
The race was a blast. Definitely a once in a lifetime experience. I followed the training plan pretty closely and I felt great the whole time, keeping a comfortable pace, and am sure I could have pushed harder. But I enjoyed every minute of it. Congrats to you too! You had stiff competition but blasted through the course. If or when I do any more tri racing, I’ll be in touch for coaching or a training plan. Great to meet you. I hope you have a good season. Cheers, Laura – New York

Hi Rachel,

I wanted to thank you for the program that allowed me to get through this.  At this time last year I could not run a mile, swim 200 yards, and I have not been on a work out bike in recent memory. Your program gave me the guidance I needed to attain this long overdue dream. Yes, I had a great time.  I enjoy the race atmosphere and the crowds, as well as the course beauty.  We are lucky to have such a place in our own back yard. Since last summer I have lost about 40lbs.  If I do this race next year I plan to be another 30lbs. down.  And plan to finish in 3 hrs. Thanks again for your help and answering my questions. Best, Jason Keys – Sonoma, CA

Hi Rachel,
As for the race, it was great!  So fun.  I felt pretty well prepared despite the winter in chicago, and I am really looking forward to the good weather now and my next tri, which is Chicago at the end of the summer.  Somehow I qualified to be an “elite amateur” for that one, which basically just means i get to go in one of the first waves.  With my new bike though, I think I might be able to do pretty well.  My hamstrings were near cramping at the end of the running so i had to take it slow after the sand ladder (which was so hard!) … I am guessing that if i had done more of the long bike rides on my schedule, it wouldn’t have been a problem.  Live and learn!  Anyway, thanks again for your advice.  My trip was outstanding.  Here’s hoping I get in through the lottery again next year!! Rory – Chicago, IL

Hypercat Racing has training plans for the IMG Escape from Alcatraz, the Alcatraz Challenge and the San Francisco Alcatraz triathlon.
Visit www.hypercat.com  for more information on creating the strategy for your personal escape!

Leave a Reply

